Wednesday, March 14, 2012

Extreme Cardio #2

So Tony was home tonight - YEAH!! (he was actually home because he was sick so I can't cheer too hard!! *sheepish grin* :) :) but he was home nonetheless...) so I went with Erica to Whitney's Extreme Cardio class again.  This was my second time going.  (The first was exactly one month ago.  I'm not even sure I have recovered since that one.  ha ha)

Anyways - we were a little bit late and when we walked in she said "we haven't done much so you haven't really missed anything."  Both of us groaned and thought "dang, we should've come even later!" :) 

I'm not gonna lie... this one was SOOOO hard!!  Even harder than last time.  For one full hour, she does NOT stop moving.  And she expects you to not stop moving as well.  In fact near the end, after one workout we all stayed on the ground after (I think we had just done about 75 minutes of pushups and jumps... at least it felt that way...) and she yelled "what are you doing?!?!  Get up, get up, get up!!" 

Also, she gave us a "water break" and I put that in quotes because there was NO break involved.  She should've said "I will give you exactly 2.3 seconds to take a sip of water before I continue on my slaughtering rampage."  Anyways, Erica and I hadn't brought a water bottle so we both ran out into the hall.  When we got back, we were politely asked to bring water bottles next week since she had already started the next exercise. 

**As a side note - I realize I'm probably making her out to be a Nazi.  And... she is!  I'm not gonna lie... :)  But she's a VERY nice Nazi.  I love her!  She is INSANELY good and talented.  Just VERY serious about exercise! :) :)

This was a lot like last time, but she added more plyometric stuff... The actual definition of plyometrics is this.... Plyometrics (also known as "plyos") is a type of exercise training designed to produce fast, powerful movements, and improve the functions of the nervous system, generally for the purpose of improving performance in sports. Plyometric exercises may also be referred to as explosive exercises.  Yes, I was about ready to explode....

Anyways - at the end, she said we were going to do 16 burpees (not sure how to spell that, but it's where you jump up, go down like a frog and jump out, then repeat.)  She said to go and do them SUPER hard and that this was our last thing.  One of the girls confirmed "so this is our LAST thing so we can go all out."  She said "Yes."  Well after doing all those, she then had us plank for a while and then stomp planking - and then one more thing but my mind is fuzzy and I can't remember what it was!! :)  Halfway through I said to my neighbors "what part of LAST THING does she not understand!??!"  ha ha.  Also at the end, everyone was thanking her.  In between my gasps, I said "why is everyone thanking her?  What do you have to be thankful for?!?"  ha ha - apparently I'm the exercise class clown.  Although I have to admit, I was in between 2 hilarious girls who kept it VERY fun for me!  MUCH better than last time...  Erica was one and I don't know the other girl's name.  I didn't have any breath or energy afterward to introduce myself.  Guess I'll have to go early next week to make a new friend!
I left the church that night DRIPPING wet with sweat.  I don't ever get like that, so that was quite a feat for me.  Then Erica and I stood outside and talked for a full hour after.  So by the time I got in, I was barely moving.  But it felt great!!!

Wow!  Here's to extreme cardio....

No comments:

Post a Comment