Tuesday, March 6, 2012

"You Did Awesome!"

This morning I woke up feeling REALLY sick.  It started last night.  Stomach pains.  I felt sick, nauseous, greasy, etc.  I didn't sleep very well and seriously felt like absolute garbage.  But when that annoying text from Cheryl came at 8:20, :) I realized I had to make a decision.  I have missed SO many exercise classes in the past few weeks and really need to get going again.  But at the same time - I felt SOOO gross!!  Well, I made a decision - the theme of this season of The Biggest Loser is NO EXCUSES (side note - this is NOT a good season of the show so if you haven't seen it before, DO NOT start watching now... you'll never want to come back...).  Anyways, so I told myself that even feeling sick was NO EXCUSE!  So I got up and went. 

Well, it didn't go very well.  I was SOOO sick there.  She wanted to do a Fit Cardio rotation.  We would run 12 times across the gym, then do 12 lifts with the weights, 12 jumping lunges, 12 tricep dips (or push ups) and then 12 crunches.  Each time you did it (we did it 4 times), you're supposed to go faster.  Well, I couldn't even do a full set.  I VERY lightly jogged across the gym.  I did the lifting.  The jumping lunges turned into light-non-jumping-lunges.  The tricep dips were okay but I totally vetoed the crunches.  I knew they would make me vomit.

Then she followed that up with another 30 minutes of exercises.  Needless to say, I very limply did SOME of them.  I felt pretty dumb but was just glad that I hadn't puked.  The whole time I'm working out I'm trying to think of why I was sick.  I knew it wasn't the flu (I didn't have any other symptoms), I didn't think it was a food allergy (they usually hit me differently than this even though I do think I have a new, undiscovered one...), I didn't think it was from a greasy meal (we had eaten really healthy the day before), I didn't think it was food poisoning (no one else in my family was sick), ... I couldn't figure out the problem. 

Then it hit me like a ton of bricks!!!  It's what I have affectionately termed my P.S.S (POST-STRESS SICKNESS!)  I have figured out a pattern in my life.  Every time I go through REALLY stressful times, my body somehow finds a way to pull through and be strong.  I live on less sleep, grosser foods and lots of anxiety.  But I'm able to survive and be strong.  BUT... after that, my body crashes.  I feel like I can't get caught up on sleep and I get really sick to my stomach.  I have been to multiple doctors about this and every time they ask "are you going through a stressful time?"  I always say "no - I just got over one for the past 3 months, I'm FINE now!"  But for some weird reason, my body reacts this way.  It's almost like it's punishing me for putting it through so much stress! :)  And yes, the past month has been VERY VERY stressful!!!!

ANYWAYS - once I figured this out, I knew I would be fine and just had to get past it... but man, I sure feel like garbage here and now!!  As soon as the class was over, the teacher came up to me and said "you did AWESOME today Kristi.  Awesome job!"  I thanked her, but inside I was laughing SO hard!  Really, an AWESOME job?!?!?!??!  I've only been working out here for the past 3 months.  I really HOPE I don't look like I did an awesome job today!!! :)

I know she was just being nice, it just made me laugh.  Anyways - I still feel like garbage (although better after the Gatorade and Saltines that JenK brought me) but I'm SUPER proud that I made it this morning.  Victory for me!

3 comments:

  1. good job Kristi. way to demonstrate mind over body!! hope you can feel more yourself quickly.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Hey that just goes perfectly with your new idea of celebrate the small victories, right? Way to be!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Wow, Kristi - I wonder if this PSS is genetic?!!! I get the SAME thing! Mine manifests itself a little differently though - sounds like yours is mostly physical symptoms, mine are emotional and pure fatigue and exhaustion. It is so weird - I can totally sail through some of the hardest times in life with pure grit, will, and adrenaline, but when it is all over I crash hard. Thanks for putting into perspective though, at least you know what it is, know we will pull through and feel better in a while... but yah, definitely NOT fun while it lasts huh! Your teacher was right though, you did do AWESOME. You were there!

    ReplyDelete