Monday, January 9, 2012

The BEST gift!

Another day, another week, another Monday!  Okay, I can't sound that annoyed - it's only my SECOND Monday!! :) 

I didn't get my workout in this morning because Tony had another late night rotation so I was trying to keep me and the kids quiet and out of the house while he slept.  As a side bonus - I found a lot more cool, cheap Christmas clearance items.  ha ha

So I came home in the afternoon and ate another taquito.  (They really are good.  Whether you like vegetarian food or not!)  I then ate a bite of the chocolate cake from yesterday.  I then realized I hadn't weighed myself yet.  I called Cheryl and ran up to use her scale.

I got the BEST gift on the scale today!!  Are you ready?  Are you excited?  Are you just waiting with bated breath to know how much I lost?!?!?!?  I thought it was going to be a pound.  What do you think????........  Regardless of what you thought - I bet you are wrong!  I didn't lose a pound.  I didn't lose 2 pounds.  I didn't even remain the same.  I GAINED a pound. 

No, really!

I did!!!

Seriously?!?!?  How in the WORLD did that happen?!?!?  Okay, okay - I know the logistics.  I weighed in after eating, wearing shoes and jeans, after drinking lots of water from running around all morning... heck, it could even be Christmas junk food catching up to me.  Whatever the issue - REALLY?!?!?  I thought I would at least have just stayed the same.  Not GAINED a pound.


Well, I did what any sensible girl would do that hates to exercise (but still did it not 4, not 5 but SIX times last week), HATES counting calories (but did it EVERY day last week), hates limiting junk food (but did it EVERY second of every day last week even with my sweets looking at me with their mocking eyes) and who just found out she gained a pound.

I went back downstairs and ate the rest of that piece of chocolate cake I had a bite of after lunch!!!! :)

No, really!  I did!! :)  Pathetically, I did!  BUT... it was just a piece (a delicious chocolatey, velvet piece of heaven).  AND... I felt guilty after so since PK was sleeping and the boys were in the middle of their 25th argument of the day, I sent them both to their rooms and started my workout. 

I started the PowerSculpt DVD today.  I'm not quite a big of fan of it as I am of cardio.  First, because my one knee pops whenever I do certain lunges and I hate hearing it (ahh my wrists and neck Ju! :) - and second, because I have a really weak back and certain moves with the weights tend to hurt my back.  But I suffered through it.  All the time cursing that extra pound and cursing that piece of cake.  Okay, really I was dreaming about the cake and even thought Jillian's face slightly resembled a chocolate cake.... :)

Well... time to stop whining and keep moving on.  Several movie quotes come to mind at this time.  First - Dory's "Just Keep Swimming" from Finding Nemo (ironically on tv today.  Disney must've known I needed to hear it.)  The other - Hilary Duff's dad in A Cinderella Story has the quote "Never let the fear of striking out keep you from playing the game" on the wall in his restaurant.  I haven't thought about that quote in a VERY long time.  But it randomly came back in my mind today.  (A lot of random things happening today.  Coincidence, I think not!)  I DID strike out today.  I thought I was going to blog tonight about my loss and impress everyone (including myself) with my progress.  But guess what?  It's okay!  I've laced up my shoes even tighter, grabbed a different bat and I'm headed back out to play!

Because... I'm in it to win it!!!

4 comments:

  1. Kristi - the scale can be your worst enemy some times in this journey - it LIES. It is a horrible liar, I tell you! 1) muscle weighs more than fat 2) hormones and water retention have nothing to do with fat and 3) when you work out, your muscles retain water so they can heal and get STRONGER. When I am consistently working out I weight about 2-3 pounds more than if I am not because of the muscle water, so technically, since you had been up and about half the day, had eaten and dranken(?) and had your SHOES ON crazy girl- you are probably down at least a few pounds of fat. Your inner scale is the best judge of how you are doing!!

    ReplyDelete
  2. That's why I don't own a scale :) It's all about how you feel, not the number on the scale!! Way to keep up your good attitude

    ReplyDelete
  3. Jeni - you've now moved from "inspiration" to HERO and SAINT in my book!! :) Thanks to both of you for the encouragement. I figure it's a SUPER good sign to me that I'm willing to still keep going even after that disappointing moment. It isn't just about losing weight - it's a life-long journey!! THANKS!!

    ReplyDelete
  4. LOVE the Disney quotes, keep those coming!!

    ReplyDelete