Thursday, January 5, 2012

Rearrange

Today was a better day for me!  Albeit, I still got kicked off my routine which is always hard!  Tony's new rotation shift was from 23:59 (seriously!) to 07:00 this morning - but he didn't actually get in bed until 09:00.  I tried to keep the kids quiet but knew that for him to get some really good sleep, we should probably leave the house.  So we went with our best shopping buddy Jen Jen to check out some final after Christmas clearance stuff.  We got some SWEET deals for SUPER cheap!

You know the funny thing??  I KNOW I haven't lost any weight yet, but I actually felt pretty good and pretty confident walking around the store.  It was a foreign feeling to me.  At Lowe's, one of the male workers seemed to be extra nice in showing me where the product was I was looking for.  I'm sure he noticed my post-workouts glow!!!  (Okay, he WAS really nice, but I'm sure he's just a nice guy to everyone.  Although to boost my self-esteem I knew - in my head - that he could totally tell that I've been working out and eating less!!)

Another VICTORY!!  There is SO much Christmas candy on clearance right now.  And quite frankly - I love it all!!  But I have not bought ONE thing!  I'm been SO proud of myself.  The price of this candy is SO cheap - but I've reminded myself "is it worth it?"  Whenever I brag about good clearance deals, my brother always says "it's not how much you save, it's how much you SPEND!"  So I tried to think "it's not how much I would be saving on the delicious chocolate, peppermint, eggnog yumminess, it's how many calories I would be spending!!"

Although we were gone for a long time and I realized I didn't bring anything to eat.  I had bought Wheat Thins at the previous store for Alex - which he was currently munching on.  But I didn't want to just chow down on crackers.  I also didn't want to buy anything from any fast food place.  2 reasons - no money, and I saw first hand last night how many calories that packs onto one meal.  (Keep in mind - I will DEFINITELY still eat junk food and fast food.  I am DEFINITELY not motivated enough to give it all up.  If I could, I'd be 90 pounds!  I'm just trying to limit the intake...)

So... I made the best decision possible with the choices I had.  I went for the crackers.  I noticed that 16 crackers was a serving size.  I didn't want to eat that many calories so I just ate 10.  But strangely enough, it satisfied me enough (combined with plenty of water) until I could get home and eat healthy.  Normally in the past, I would've just kept munching on crackers until I felt full.  BAD IDEA!!  But I was totally comfortable with just adding the calories from 10 crackers onto my day.

When I got home, I was busy running around doing everything that I normally do.  I sat for one minute to think about my night.  I realized I had A LOT to do and "might not have time to work out."  Yeah right!  I could hear Bob saying "Excuses, excuses!!"  Then all of the sudden it hit me that Logan was at a friend's house, Tony was studying, Alex was playing with cars, PK was sleeping and I didn't need to start making dinner for about 30 more minutes.  Okay, here was the moment of truth.  Do I decide to exercise and get it over with for the day.. or keep doing other things that are definitely not as important??  Alright, FINE!  I'll exercise!!!!!

I had a little helper this time!  Alex wanted to join along with me...
Doing side lunges / toe taps
Doing our boxing punches
Jump Rope
Push Ups
The push ups was my favorite part! :)  You do a push up, walk your hands and feet over, and do another one.  Then back to repeat.  Alex decided to climb on my back for this part.  So I did the WHOLE thing with a little extra monkey weight on my back!  I was SO proud!  **Happy side note - I did the whole exercise session at 100% and even added hand weights.  WAHOO!!  It's AWESOME to see improvement!!
I made spaghetti for dinner.  I found quinoa pasta tonight.  And you could NOT tell that it wasn't just regular, plain ol' spaghetti noodles.  NICE!!  We don't mind wheat noodles or any other type of noodle - but I know a lot of people don't like anything but regular.  I would definitely recommend it if you struggle making healthy changes because this one REALLY doesn't taste any different!

5 comments:

  1. When I first looked at the picture of you guys doing the jump rope I thought it was supposed to be a picture of you shimmying :) You should add that to your workout! Ha ha

    ReplyDelete
  2. where did you find the pasta??

    ReplyDelete
  3. This comment has been removed by the author.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I found it at WalMart - but I think most places are starting to sell it now.

    ReplyDelete
  5. k- I'm looking for that kind of pasta. I'm a bit of a spaghetti snob. It's my fav food and I don't want to ruin it with wheat noodles. I'll give these a try though.

    ReplyDelete