Wednesday, January 4, 2012

First Glitch

So... today was a HARD day!  (Yep, this is the point where you start laughing because it's only FOUR days into the New Year and my new goal!!!!!!)  Really?!?!?!  It's pathetic, but it's true!

First, I had an AWFUL night sleep.  PK is teething so he kept waking up every 45 minutes!!, then Alex and Logan each woke up.  Needless to say, I didn't sleep at all.  Fortunately Tony didn't have to leave until almost noon so he waited until 11:30 to wake me up.  By that point, my routine was TOTALLY ruined.  On top of that, I was watching Rani for a while and didn't want to exercise when I could play with her, Alex was tired and said he just wanted to be held, PK was totally cranky with his teeth, I knew I was going out with friends that night so I had things to get done beforehand... exercising was literally the LAST thing on my mind!!! 

On top of all of that - EVERY SINGLE SUGAR ITEM in my house was calling my name.  I could seriously hear them saying "Kristi - you KNOW you want to eat me!!"  "Imagine my delicious sugary-ness cascading down your throat - coating it with sugary yumminess!"  "Hawaii can wait - you can work out tomorrow.  You can definitely take one day off and eat me!!!"  Do you see my problem??

But I'll tell you what - the fact that I've started to input my food on a free calorie tracker has been a LIFESAVER for me!  I want the treats and I don't want to exercise - but I also know how crappy I will feel at the end of the day when I have to input all those treats and not input exercise.  Not to mention - now that I came up with this stupid blog idea (it seemed that way today! :) I know that it will be VERY obvious if I'm not keeping up with it cause PICTURES DON'T LIE!!!

I HATE inputing my food and I HATE counting calories... but it's the most brilliant thing I've ever started!!!

The other benefit - I knew I was going to McDonald's that night with my friends so our kids had a place to run while we chatted.  So in the morning, I entered in what I wanted to have there - there was even an ice cream sundae planned in my night (now you can't feel guilty Melissa! :) - so I knew what I would be eating that night and planned the rest of my day accordingly.  Again - BRILLIANT plan, but it sure doesn't change the fact that I despise doing it!!!!

After going out with my friends - (and yes, I enjoyed EVERY second and EVERY calorie of those fries and sundae) - I came home full of excuses.  I was tired, I needed to take down my Christmas tree, I had dishes to do, etc.  But guess what - I turned on last night's Biggest Loser episode. 

(It's the first one of this new season.  CAN'T WAIT!!)  Anyways - the theme this year is "NO EXCUSES".  Well, isn't that just a kick in the rear!!  So... after feeling guilty and Tony even wheeling my exercise bike to the front room - I was totally out of excuses and got on my bike.

You know the worst part - the part I HATE to admit... I really did feel AWESOME afterwards and I was SO proud when I entered in my exercise to my fitness tracker.  I was SO proud!!

No comments:

Post a Comment