Monday, January 2, 2012

Good Choice!

This morning was the first day to start over.  Monday morning of the New Year!!!!  I am a night person!  I always have been.  I don't like having schedules in the morning.  Mostly because, if I can ever sleep in - I WILL!  And I won't change that for anything.  I'm a free spirit in the morning! :)  But years ago, I changed a routine of mine.  Years ago, I wanted to start reading my scriptures.  I remember watching Holly read scriptures when we were in high school.  She had a set routine.  I remember being embarrassed that I was the older sister - the one that should've been the example - and yet I had NEVER had a regular routine of reading my scriptures.  So I changed that and made a goal to read before bedtime.  Over the years though, I realized that I wasn't super consistent.  I would be TOO exhausted by the end of the night, or too lazy or too busy, etc.  Sometimes I would make myself read but fall asleep while reading.  Not to mention, there were times when I'd want to do something else but would groan because I'd remember I hadn't read my scriptures.  Basically, there were days where it was more an annoying chore than a pleasure.  Which is NOT how scripture reading should be!!

So going against EVERYTHING I've ever wanted to do - a few years ago I switched to reading in the morning.  And it has worked out AWESOME!  I get it done EVERY DAY!  There are some crazy days and I do have to make it up later, but for the most part, it's NEVER an issue! 

Same with working out.  I started a few years ago running at nighttimes with Melanie and Jen.  I LOVED it.  It was perfect for me!!  But then they both moved away and there went my routine.  I tried to do it by myself - but most nights, I was WAY too tired, stressed, lazy or busy.  So I'm TRYING to convince myself to work out in the morning.  I HATE it - but I know it will be better for me.  When I was on the swim team - during the summer we had 6am - 8am practice.  I HATED it every morning.  My dad can attest to that - I yelled at him to GO AWAY! every morning!!  ha ha.  But I always felt GREAT after!

So.... today I tried to do it in the morning again.  I woke up, read my scriptures and then decided to work out.  Logan wanted to play on the computer - which proved to be the perfect distraction - and Alex laid on the ground by PK and kept him entertained.  It was PERFECT!!  And... I REALLY did feel great after!!  ha ha

Later that day, we went and saw a movie with Scott.  We got a small bag of popcorn.  (Actually, maybe it was a medium! :)  Scott didn't want any so it just ended up being me and Tony eating it.  Usually, I just eat and eat popcorn while I'm watching a movie and not paying attention to how much I'm eating.  Today was different.  After both of us eating about 1/4 of the bag, I said "I think I'm done.  You can just hold it."  Part of me was just trying to do better, but shockingly - part of me REALLY was done.  It's interesting the mental game food plays with me!

Tony said he was done as well and just set it down.  At the end of the movie (which was AN EXTREMELY AWESOME MOVIE... M:I4 - but which made me miss Kelli immensely!!!!!) I looked down and saw that we had only eaten 1/4.  I was SO proud of us!  Of ME!!!

Gotta celebrate the little, tiny victories, right?!?!?!?

No comments:

Post a Comment